Oxford-Weidenfeld Translation Prize

The Oxford-Weidenfeld Prize is for book-length literary translations into English from any living European language. It aims to honour the craft of translation, and to recognise its cultural importance. It is funded by Lord Weidenfeld and by New College, The Queen’s College and St Anne’s College, Oxford.

Enquiries about the Oxford-Weidenfeld Translation Prize should be directed to the Prize Administrator

The 2014 Winner

The winner of the Oxford-Weidenfeld Translation Prize 2014 is Susan Wicks for her translation of Valérie Rouzeau’s Talking Vrouz (Arc publications).

The judges said:

Talking Vrouz is a wonderfully inventive and yet faithful translation of poems which are already at an oblique angle to their own language (French). Susan Wicks renders a unique poetic voice, with all its eccentricities and privacies, into a matching English.  The translation is exact, inventive and full of life, and offers readers something new and startling in English poetry.   

The Prize was awarded at an event at St Anne's College, Oxford, at which the shortlisted translators read from and discussed their work. This was the crowning event of Oxford Translation Day, a festival of talks, readings and workshops staged in collaboration with Oxford Comparative Criticism and Translation, English PEN, the Poetry Translation Centre, the Oxford German Network, the East Oxford Community Classics Centre and the Oxford Research Centre for the Humanities.

Previous winners

2013 Philip Boehm for his translation of The Hunger Angel by Herta Müller (Portobello)
2012 Judith Landry for her translation of New Finnish Grammar by Diego Marani (Dedalus)
2011 Margaret Jull Costa for José Saramago’s The Elephant’s Journey (Harvill Secker)
2010 Jamie McKendrick for his translation of Valerio Magrelli’s The Embrace (Faber and Faber)
2009 Anthea Bell for her translation of Saša Stanišic’s How the Soldier Repairs the Gramophone (Weidenfeld & Nicolson)
2008 Margaret Jull Costa for her translation of Eça de Queiroz’s The Maias (Dedalus)
2007 Michael Hofmann for his translation of Durs Grünbein’s Ashes for Breakfast: Selected Poems (Faber and Faber)
2006 Len Rix for his translation of Magda Szabo’s The Door (Harvill Secker)
2005 Denis Jackson for his translation of Theodor Storm’s Paul the Puppeteer (Angel Books)
2004 Michael Hofmann for his translation of Ernst Junger’s Storm of Steel (Penguin)
2003 Ciaran Carson for his translation of Dante Alighieri’s Inferno (Granta)
2002 Patrick Thursfield and Katalin Banffy-Jelen for Miklos Banffy’s They Were Divided (Arcadia)
2001 Edwin Morgan for his translation of Phaedra by Jean Racine (Carcanet) into Scots
2000 Margaret Jull Costa for the translation of Jose Saramago’s All the Names (Harvill)
1999 Jonathan Galassi for his translation of Eugenio Montale’s Collected Poems (Carcanet)